New Bon Iver Album to Feature Funky Song Names

Bon Iver 2

It has been 5 years since Bon Iver released an LP album and the new pieces included are decidedly intriguing. The lyrics of the songs are definitely captivating, the music true and new words are introduced, even if not appropriate for all audiences. The group has named the album 22, A Million and the songs listed have some of the most extraordinary names. The tracks number 10 and each have a distinctive sound to them; they are:

1. “22 (OVER S∞∞N)”
2. “10 d E A T h b R E a s T ⊠ ⊠”
3. “715 – CRΣΣKS”
4. “33 “GOD”
5. “29 #Strafford APTS”
6. “666 ʇ”
7. “21 M♢♢N WATER”
8. “8 (circle)”
9. “____45_____”
10. “00000 Million”

The album was recorded for the most part at Justin Vernon’s April Base Studios in Fall Creek, Wisconsin alongside studios in London and Lisbon. It is set for release on September 30th on jagjaguwar. “22, A Million is part love letter, part final resting place of two decades of searching for self-understanding like a religion. And the inner-resolution of maybe never finding that understanding,” the band said in a statement. “The album’s 10 poly-fi recordings are a collection of sacred moments, love’s torment and salvation, contexts of intense memories, signs that you can pin meaning onto or disregard as coincidence. If Bon Iver built a habitat rooted in physical spaces, then 22, A Million is the letting go of that attachment to a place.”

Two of the album’s tracks have already been shared, alongside the video for the second track in extended version featuring Eric Timothy Carlson’s work; Carlson had also created the band’s upcoming album art. The whole selection of songs was performed by the group at Eaux Claires Music Festival in Wisconsin, adding to the album’s hype. Over the past 5 years Vernon has been pretty busy himself, releasing albums with his other bands Volcano Choir and Shouting Matches in 2013, while also being featured with Kanye west in Yeezus and James Blake in Enough Thunder and The Colour of Anything. It will be exciting to see what projects he ends up taking on next!