New Neil Young Album Due in December



Peace Trail, the mostly acoustic new album by the talented Neil Young, is due for release on December 2, 2016, just in time for holiday giving and gathering. It is a 10 track intriguing artistic creation that has been recorded at Rick Ruben’s Shangri La Studios, with the production credits going to Neil Young himself and John Hanlon. We already have the music video for “Indian Givers” which takes the 3 rd slot on the album, the words harkening to the days of occupation of the American lands, shedding Native blood and wishing “somebody would share the news.” This song was in support of the Native American protest against the Dakota Access Pipeline, which would be destroying prime land. It even mentions Dale “Happy” American Horse Jr. who was a protestor arrested on August 31 st,  after chaining himself to the construction equipment. The release of this album will be via Reprise Records, and is considered a more conventional recording, with Jim Keltner on drums and Paul Bushnell on bass.

Earlier this year we saw the release of Young’s Earth as well, which means that we have been treated to two albums this year alone and wondering whether 2017 will be bringing any surprises with it as well. It appears that Peace Trail was started right about the same time as the release of the last, with the artist not bothering to take a breather as he dove back into the process. For fans to get their hands on the new album first, the official website allows for pre-orders. It would be a curious fact to know exactly how many have already put in their application to receive the brilliant new composition, which will allow for the instant download of the title-track, while in December we will see cassette and CD availability and January will bring with it the vinyl version. That’s a whole lot of goodies from Neil Young around the Christmas period!

The album tracks include:

  1. Peace Trail
  2. Can’t Stop Workin’
  3. Indian Givers
  4. Show Me
  5. Texas Rangers
  6. Terrorist Suicide Hang Gliders
  7. John Oaks
  8. My Pledge
  9. Glass Accident
  10. My New Robot