New Star-Studded Calvin Harris Album Gets Major Heat


There will be a host of top music guests on the new Calvin Harris album Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 1, which he has described in a February tweed as working “with the greatest artists of our generation!!!” The Scottish record producer, DJ, singer and songwriter will be dropping the new album come June 30th, where we will get to see everyone from Frank Ocean, Travis Scott, Kehlani, Future and Pharrell to Katy Perry, Big Sean, John Legend, Khalid, Migos, Schoolboy Q, Ariana Grande, Young Thug, D.R.A.M., Nicki Minaj, Lil Yachty, Jessie Reyez, PARTYNEXTDOOR, and Snoop Dogg. Of course, fans will be the deciding factor on who actually is the best from this mix, but all in all, there is major hype happening, with the release of “Slide” with Frank Ocean and Migos collaborations, and “Heatstroke” with Young Thug, Pharell, and Ariana Grande. Harris’ last album was 2014’s Motion and this new one is expected to be spectacular.

Then again, perhaps it might also be controversial since there are those who would greatly disagree with having so many collaborators on the different tracks. Just one rant about this states: “Anyone ever remember when calvin harris was just… calvin harris? who the fuck are all these other people? like… why?”. He added: “fucking hate watching what i love to do get raped by popular culture for the sake of selling stupid shit for stupid people… nothing new here. just your typical sellout rant about people who obviously know how to pander shit for the sake of capitalism. moving on.” Yes, those are actual spelling and grammar mistakes, and yes, it is all by Deadmau5.

In the meantime, we wait for that lovely Future and Khalid collaboration, which is due out Friday.