Portugal. The Man is an American alternative and progressive rock band. The band is from Wasilla, Alaska and consists of five members: John Gourley, Zachary Carothers, Eric Howk, Jason Sechrist, and Kyle O’Quin.

Way back in 2001, John Gourley and Zach Carothers were in a band called Anatomy of a Ghost with three other members. Despite the band gaining popularity, it eventually broke up. Gourley started Portugal. The Man as one of his side projects along with Carothers who played bass. Since they did not have a drummer at that time, they relied on drum machines.

When they recruited Wesley Hubbard, Harvey Tumbleson, and Nick Klein, the group Portugal. The Man was formally created. The group moved to Portland in order to record and tour. They did plenty of demos in 2004. In the spring of 2005, Klein and Tumbleson left the group and Jason Sechrist came in as a replacement.

The band’s debut album was released in January 2006 and was called Walter: You Vultures! It was released via Fearless Records. The band’s second full-length album was released in January 2007. It was called Church Mouth and was produced by Casey Bates, who also produced their first record.

Following the release of their second full-length album, Portugal. The Man kicked off their first full U.S. headline tour. They toured along with a few other artists such as Play Radio Play, The Photo Atlas and The Only Children. By 2008, Wes Hubbard left the group and was replaced by Ryan Neighbors. They also left their record label Fearless Records. From 2009 to 2010, the band managed to release two albums: The Satanic Satanist and American Ghetto.

The band signed a new record deal with Atlantic Records in 2010. That same year, they went back to the studio to record a new album. This time, they worked with producer John Hill and Grammy winner Andy Wallace. Since then, they have managed to release a few more albums: Evil Friends in 2013 and Woodstock in 2014.

Other major breaks for Portugal. The Man included having their song “Heavy Games” featured as the music for the 4th season of The Walking Dead. It was also part of the show’s soundtrack album.