Radiohead’s New Album Has Us Thinking Moon Shaped Pools

Radiohead 1


Apple Music and Tidal seem to be getting all the love these days, even more than Spotify sometimes, with album releases appearing much sooner than their physical stock in stores. Radiohead has joined in this trend rather happily as well, with their first album since 2011’s King of Limbs making its online appearance ahead of the June release. At long last! With a title of  A Moon Shaped Pool, it will surely have us dreaming of beautiful days in the sun or under the moonlight, bodies buoyant and content. It is the long awaited ninth album and is available through .


Now, there is something about the video for the first single on the album known as “Burn the Witch” that is so very appealing. With nearly 10.4 million views in less than a week, the 1960s style animation similar to the Trumptonshire trilogy is very intriguing, particularly since there has been a lot of blame and pointed fingers of late, something the animation by Virpi Kettu captured in a medieval setting. Another song from the album, “Daydreaming” also garnered much attention creating a loop and shifts as if one is actually stuck in a dream state. That one was a teaser single featuring Thom Yorke and directed by Paul Thomas Anderson, the unsettled look on Yorke’s face as he opens doors to everything from a hospital to a laundromat really adding to the intrigue of the creation. The final words in the video are rather incomprehensible, but when you isolate it, reverse and speed it up, it appears he mentions, “Every minute, half of my love.” Somehow, we have gotten quite used to Radiohead doing this at the end of their videos.

The album will be available mid-June, while for $86.50 you can also receive a special edition which appears with 2 vinyl discs and one CD, the 11 tracks split across, with another CD containing a few additional tracks and 32 pages of artwork, along with a half inch of master tape to be delivered in September of 2016.

Radiohead 2

The 11 tracks are added in alphabetical order, with the songs ranging from 2:52 minutes to 6:07. It includes:

  1. Burn the Witch
  2. Daydreaming
  3. Decks Dark
  4. Desert Island Disk
  5. Ful stop
  6. Glass Eyes
  7. Identikit
  8. The Numbers
  9. Present Tense
  10. Tinker Tailor Soldier Sailor Rich Man Poor Man Beggar Man Thief
  11. True Love Waits