Shakira’s New El Dorado Release Highlighted at Free Show


Wynwood was more than happy to see Shakira on May 26th, when the gorgeous Columbian superstar decided to give a free pop-up show at one in the morning on Thursday night, presenting a sneak peak of her latest album, El Dorado. This came on the heels of another pop-up show in New York on May 17th, with the performance taking place in Washington Square Park. The album is named after the famed golden city, with the songwriting process for the masterpiece having been therapeutic for the artist. It will be the 11th record of her career and will include 13 incredible songs in English and Spanish, some featuring other great artists such as Maluma and Nicky Jam.

There is a reason Shakira’s held the Queen of Latin Pop title for over 15 years, with so many singles topping the Billboard charts that it is hard to keep track of. On May 28th, we got wind of her newest single, a ballad called “Nada” sung entirely in Spanish and utterly inspiring. Many of the songs off the album have already found their way onto the Hot Latin Songs and Hot 100 lists, including “La Bicicleta” and “Chantaje” in the mix. “Déjà vu” and “Comme Moi” also appear on the track list, alongside the “Trap” duet.

She might be 40, but Shakira’s all class and sex appeal, looking perfectly sensual in a leggy number as she revealed some of what we can expect from her album. Some of the songs are apparently for her second half, Spanish footballer Gerard Pique, the father of her two children. “Me Enamore” was confirmed to be a narration about how she met her man and fell in love; it is a love that has transcended multiple obstacles over its span of six years now.

At this stage, Shakira has nothing to prove and her release of a great track mix proves it. Effortless skills are apparent, while the album itself is a definite gem. Songs included are:

1. “Me Enamoré”
2. “Nada”
3. “Chantaje” (feat. Maluma)
4. “When a Woman”
5. “Amarillo”
6. “Perro Fiel” (feat. Nicky Jam)
7. “Trap” (feat. Maluma)
8. “Comme Moi” (Black M & Shakira)
9. “Coconut Tree”
10. “La Bicicleta” (Carlos Vives & Shakira)
11. “Deja Vu” (Prince Royce & Shakira)
12. “When We Said (Comme Moi)” [feat. MAGIC!]
13. “Toneladas”