Solange with a New “Seat at the Table” Album!



The celebrity world is abuzz with the latest news of Solange Knowles releasing a new album and the work we hear is positively sublime! It is a 21 track beauty that dropped into our laps on Friday morning and this officially makes it her third studio album to hit the stands. The album has been a long time in the making and fans have been waiting anxiously to hear more by the gorgeous singer, following her 2008 release of Sol-Angel and the Hadley St. Dreams and 2012’s True EP. An added bonus to the soundtrack, which in and of itself features awesome added voices by Kelly Rowland, Lil’ Wayne, Kelela, Q-Tip, The-Dream and Dev Hynes, we get a 112 page digital songbook on the official Solange website with lyrics and photos, allowing us to follow along with the pieces ranging from 17 seconds to nearly 5 minutes, all available on iTunes and Spotify to purchase. Some fans, 86 of the first to sign up on the website to be clear, even managed to get their hands on the limited copies of the handbook which is a companion piece to the album, the lyrics presented as poetry and the pictures spicing up the album’s beauty. A Seat at the Table was started four years ago according to an Instagram post, while it was shared at midnight on September 29, after an announcement about 1.5 hours earlier.

According to a tweet on September 30th, while “True was meant to provoke joy & challenge what we know as pop, A Seat at the Table is meant to provoke healing & a journey of self empowerment.”

The album includes:

  1. Rise
  2. Weary
  3. Interlude: The Glory is You
  4. Cranes in the Sky
  5. Interlude: Dad was Mad
  6. Mad ft. Lil Wayne
  7. Don’t You Wait
  8. Interlude: Tina Taught Me
  9. Don’t Touch my Hair ft. Sampha
  10. Interlude: This Moment
  11. Where Do We Go
  12. Interlude: For Us By Us
  13. F.U.B.U. ft. The Dream, BJ the Chicago Kid
  14. Borderline (An Ode to Self Care) ft. Q-Tip
  15. Interlude: I Got So Much Magic, You Can Have It ft. Kelly Rowland and Nia Andrews
  16. Junie
  17. Interlude: No Limits
  18. Don’t Wish Me Well
  19. Interlude: Pedestals
  20. Scales ft. Kelela
  21. Closing: The Chosen Ones