We have to say that we were big fans of Tove Lo’s debut album Queen of the Clouds and her Truth Serum EP. Now her sophomore album, Lady Wood, is set to be released on October 28. While we wait in anticipation, here’s 5 fun facts about this exciting artist in our Weekly Spotlight!

1. Tove Lo has said in interviews that Lady Wood is about being scared and excited at the same time. The album is based on her experience of being an artist in the spotlight over the last few years.

 

 

2. Tove Lo, who is from Sweden, was born Ebba Tove Elsa Nilsson. Tove Lo is actually pronounced “Too-veh Lu”, but she thinks it’s perfectly fine that people approach it phonetically. She received her nickname as a child from her godmother, because she loved lynxes. A lynx is called “lo” in Swedish.

 

Tove Lo

 

3. Because her lyrics can be somewhat complicated and autobiographical, the media in Sweden often calls her “the saddest girl in Sweden”.

 

 

4. Before she became famous, she was actually a songwriter for other singers. These include Girls Aloud, Icona Pop, Lea Michele, Victoria Justice and The Saturdays.

 

Tove Lo

 

5. Want to catch Tove Lo in concert? Here’s where she’ll be:

 

Saturday 03 September 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
AT&T Center, San Antonio, TX, US

Monday 05 September 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
Smoothie King Center, New Orleans, LA, US

Wednesday 07 September 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
AmericanAirlines Arena, Miami, FL, US

Friday 09 September 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
Amway Center, Orlando, FL, US

Wednesday 14 September 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5
Thompson-Boling Arena, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN, US

Friday 16 September 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
Royal Farms Arena, Baltimore, MD, US

Saturday 17 September 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
DCU Center, Worcester, MA, US

Monday 19 September 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
XL Center, Hartford, CT, US

Wednesday 21 September 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
Times Union Center, Albany, NY, US

Friday 23 September 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
Bell Centre, Montreal, QC, Canada

Saturday 24 September 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
Centre Videotron, Québec, QC, Canada

Monday 26 September 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5
First Niagara Center, Buffalo, NY, US

Wednesday 28 September 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
Quicken Loans Arena, Cleveland, OH, US

Thursday 29 September 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
US Bank Arena, Cincinnati, OH, US

Saturday 01 October 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee, WI, US

Monday 03 October 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
Scottrade Center, St Louis, MO, US

Tuesday 04 October 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and R. City
Pinnacle Bank Arena, Lincoln, NE, US

Thursday 06 October 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and PHASES
Pepsi Center, Denver, CO, US

Tove Lo
with Hippie Sabotage
Rialto Theatre, Tucson, AZ, US

Saturday 08 October 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and PHASES
Vivint Smart Home Arena, Salt Lake City, UT, US

Sunday 09 October 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and PHASES
Taco Bell Arena, Boise State University, Boise, ID, US

Tuesday 11 October 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and PHASES
KeyArena at Seattle Center, Seattle, WA, US

Thursday 13 October 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and PHASES
Moda Center at the Rose Quarter, Portland, OR, US

Saturday 15 October 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and PHASES
Golden 1 Center, Sacramento, CA, US

Sunday 16 October 2016
Tove Lo
with Maroon 5 and PHASES
Oracle Arena, Oakland, CA, US